Making hyperlinks visible
Posted: 04 August 2009 03:13 AM   [ Ignore ]
Rank
Total Posts:  9
Joined  2009-08-04

I’m brand new to PDFClerk, so probably this is quite obvious but I can’t seem to find it.

Making hyperlinks is wonderfully easy, but what do I need to do so that they will be visible on-screen?
What I’ve done:

1. Highlight text in Text mode. Click on Annotation button in Toolbar. In Dynamic Annotations Inspector choose Get Destination and set destination.

2. In the Appearance Inspector I choose Stroke: Style: Solid and give it some width. But when I switch back to Text mode, the box around the text that has been made into a link vanishes.

Do I need to add another, static annotation?

I’ve actually managed to get one or two to ‘stick’—but this is inconsistent.
Is there a trick?
As a corollary: The links themselves work fine, but if I choose the Dynamic Annotation mode and open Appearance Inspector, having clicked on the link, I can’t reliably edit the appearance. All of the apparently available controls just do nothing.
I’m sure I’m missing something obvious. If anyone has had similar experience or suggest what I might try, I’d be grateful.

Thanks

Posted: 04 August 2009 08:05 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Administrator
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  469
Joined  2007-03-23

I can’t reproduce this. When I test this, if I set the stroke to solid, a line appears around the annotation. If I set a dashed appearance, I get a dashed stroke. Changing the stroke width is also correctly reflected. (Make sure it is selected: you will see handles around the link. The handles are not there when the link is not selected.)

Can you send me a PDFClerk document with a link you created whose box does not show?

[ Edited: 04 August 2009 08:10 AM by Tonio ]
 Signature 

António Nunes
SintraWorks

Posted: 04 August 2009 12:20 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Rank
Joined  2009-08-04

Thanks for your quick reply.

I see that once I save the document and re-open it, the links show fine.